Head to head
Qeepsake vs Tinybeans (2026): two journals, one owner, and what each charges for
Qeepsake is now part of Tinybeans. One is a text-message journal that becomes a printed book and is paid from the first week; the other is an album-style journal with a free plan of 20 uploads a month and ads. They meter different things: photos per month, or gigabytes.
In short: Qeepsake if daily prompts by text and a printed book at the end are the point, and you will pay from the first week — Essential at $47.88 a year or Premium at $95.88 for video and contributors. Tinybeans if you want an album-style journal relatives browse themselves, either free within 20 uploads a month and 5 GB with ads, or $74.99 a year without them. Same owner, no end-to-end claim from either, and neither states photo resolution.
| Criterion | Qeepsake | Tinybeans |
|---|---|---|
| Price | 7-day trial, then Essential $4.99/mo or $47.88/yr, Premium $9.99/mo or $95.88/yr; free Lite tier of 5 photos a month[1][2][3][4] | Free (20 uploads/mo, 5 GB, ads); Tinybeans+ $7.99/mo or $74.99/yr[5][6] |
| Do relatives have to pay? | No — recap-email recipients and contributors don't pay[7][8] | No — followers view free[5][9] |
| Storage limit | Metered by count: 50 (Essential) or 100 (Premium) photos a month; 5 on Lite[10][1][3] | 5 GB free; 200 GB on Tinybeans+[11][12] |
| Photos kept at full quality? | Not stated[13] | Not stated[14] |
| Video limits | Premium only; one minute per video, app only[15] | 5 min on Tinybeans+; free limit not stated[5][14] |
| Ads? | Not stated for the app; the privacy policy allows 'personalized content and advertising' and an 'offer wall'[16] | Yes, on the free plan[17][9] |
| AI or face recognition run on your photos? | Not stated[16][18] | Not stated[19] |
| Can the company open your photos? | Yes — SSL in transit; staff can open a journal for support or print checks[18][16] | Yes — no end-to-end claim[19] |
| Can family look without installing an app? | Partly — a weekly recap email of up to 10 entries; the journal itself needs an account[8][15] | Yes — website login[9] |
| Do viewers need an account? | Partly — recap recipients accept an email invitation; contributors sign up[8][7] | Yes — followers log in[20] |
| Can family add their own photos? | Partly — 'Family Contributors' need Premium; they get their own prompts and post to the same journal[7] | Partly — owner posts; 'Full Access' followers[20] |
| Can you leave with everything? | Yes — export from Account Settings on the website; format not stated[21][3] | Partly — bulk export needs Tinybeans+[22][20] |
| Platforms | iPhone, Android, web, and SMS prompts[4][23][24][10] | iOS, Android, web[25][22] |
| App Store label: data used to track you | Yes Usage data used to track you; purchases, contacts, photos, identifiers linked[4] | Yes Location, contacts, content, identifiers, usage[25] |
| How it makes money | Memberships plus printed books and photo cards; owned by Tinybeans[1][26][27] | Ads, subscriptions, photo books[17][28] |
Where they differ
What you pay, and when. Qeepsake is paid from the first week in practice: a 7-day trial, then Essential ($4.99 a month or $47.88 a year) or Premium ($9.99 a month or $95.88 a year), with a free “Lite” tier of five photos a month that Qeepsake says it is deactivating “as we move to a paid-only system”. Tinybeans is free for 20 uploads a month and 5 GB, with ads, and $7.99 a month or $74.99 a year without them.
What is metered. Qeepsake counts photos: 50 a month on Essential, 100 on Premium. Tinybeans counts gigabytes: 5 GB free, 200 GB on Tinybeans+, unlimited uploads once you pay.
How entries arrive. Qeepsake sends prompts by text or app notification and you answer by text, photos included; video needs the app and Premium, a minute per clip. Tinybeans is an album you post to, with videos up to five minutes on Tinybeans+.
Relatives. Qeepsake emails the relatives you name a weekly recap of up to ten entries with no account needed; reading the whole journal means a “Family Contributor” account, a Premium feature. Tinybeans followers log in to the app or the website.
Ads and the policies. Tinybeans’ free plan “includes ads around your family’s journal”. Qeepsake’s pricing and help pages don’t mention ads, but its privacy policy — now Tinybeans’ — allows “personalized content and advertising” and a third-party “offer wall”.
The labels. Qeepsake’s App Store label lists Usage Data under “Data Used to Track You”; Tinybeans’ lists Location, Contact Info, User Content, Identifiers and Usage Data.
Getting out. Qeepsake exports from Account Settings on the website, format unstated, and entries stay readable on Lite after cancelling. Tinybeans’ bulk export needs Tinybeans+, though memories archived at the free limit can be exported at no cost.
Who should pick which
Qeepsake if the prompts and the printed book are what you want and you will pay from week one; Premium if you need video or a second contributor. Tinybeans if relatives should browse an album themselves, free within its caps or $74.99 a year without them. Neither if you need the original files stated or a company that can’t open the photos — see the privacy ranking.
Sources
- Qeepsake — Qeepsake — Pricing, checked 2026-09-13
Essential $4.99 / month Billed monthly … Premium $9.99 / month Billed monthly … Essential $47.88 / year $3.99 / month - billed yearly 7 DAYS FREE … Premium $95.88 / year $7.99 / month - billed yearly … Unlimited protected storage … Maximum monthly photo uploads 50 100 … Maximum spontaneous entries 200 500 … Add Family Contributors … In-app video entries.
- Qeepsake — Qeepsake help — Are memberships priced per journal?, checked 2026-09-13
All Qeepsake memberships are priced per account — not per journal … Qeepsake Essential costs $47.88 annually or $4.99 monthly, regardless of how many journals are created … Qeepsake Premium costs $95.88 annually or $9.99 monthly.
- Qeepsake — Qeepsake help — I cancelled my membership. Can I still access my account?, checked 2026-09-13
Once you’ve cancelled your paid membership, you’ll be moved to our free tier, Qeepsake Lite … Receive up to one prompt a week … Upload up to five photos per month, through the mobile app … Qeepsake has recently begun deactivating inactive free accounts as we move to a paid-only system … we will hold recently deactivated accounts for 1 year to allow for account restoration.
- Qeepsake — App Store listing: Qeepsake: Family Photo Album (privacy label, purchases), checked 2026-09-13
Only for iPhone … Developer Tinybeans USA Ltd. … Data Used to Track You: Usage Data · Data Linked to You: Developer’s Advertising or Marketing — Identifiers (User ID, Device ID); Analytics — Purchases, Contact Info, User Content, Identifiers, Usage Data; Product Personalization — Purchases, Contact Info, User Content, Identifiers, Usage Data; App Functionality — Purchases (Purchase History), Contact Info (Email Address, Name, Phone Number), User Content (Photos or Videos, Customer Support, Other User Content), Identifiers, Usage Data, Diagnostics · Data Not Linked to You: Analytics — Usage Data, Advertising Data; App Functionality — Diagnostics … In-App Purchases: Qeepsake Monthly Essential $4.99 · Qeepsake Monthly Premium $9.99 · Qeepsake Essential Free Trial $47.99 · Qeepsake Premium Free Trial $95.99.
- Tinybeans — Help: How much is a Tinybeans+ subscription?, checked 2026-09-12
Tinybeans+ is available for $74.99/year or $7.99/month … Unlimited upload of photos and videos (up to 5 minutes in length each) · An ad free experience (including for followers) · 200GB of storage · Shared subscription – grant full subscription features to a follower of your journal! · The ability to export your memories.
- Tinybeans — Help: Can I use Tinybeans for free?, checked 2026-09-12
Free subscribers are able to upload up to 20 memories (photos or videos) per month – up to a total of 5GB – with an ad-supported experience.
- Qeepsake — Qeepsake help — How do I add a Spouse or Family Contributor?, checked 2026-09-13
Contributors receive their own questions and can text their own entries. All entries will be saved to your same journal(s) … Adding Family Contributors is exclusively a Qeepsake Premium feature … Contributors will not be charged for creating an account … Contributors will need to verify their phone number and question time before they can receive their questions.
- Qeepsake — Qeepsake help — What are Qeepsake Recap emails?, checked 2026-09-13
Qeepsake can send you a weekly email (on Mondays) with the 10 most recent entries saved from the previous week … Friends and family can also receive these emails— you ultimately have control over who receives them … Your recipient will need to accept the email invitation they receive in order to receive weekly recap emails.
- Tinybeans — Help: How do I remove ads from my Tinybeans?, checked 2026-09-12
Our Tinybeans+ subscription removes ads for you and your followers when viewing your journal in the app or website … You will still see our in-house articles in the Home feed.
- Qeepsake — Qeepsake — Features, checked 2026-09-13
Capture your family’s experiences, emotions, and memories by responding to curated text prompts sent on your schedule … Premium Members can add Family Contributors, who will receive their own questions and can text their own entries … Keep family and friends in the loop by adding them as recipients to weekly recap emails … Premium Members can upload 100 photos per month, while Essential Members can upload 50 photos per month.
- Tinybeans — Help: What happens when I reach the 5GB storage limit on the free plan?, checked 2026-09-12
You'll still have access to everything you've uploaded, but you won't be able to add new photos or videos unless you upgrade. Your most recent memories will remain visible, and older ones will be safely archived.
- Tinybeans — Help: Do you have a storage limit?, checked 2026-09-12
Tinybeans allows for 5GB of storage for free journals without a paid subscription … Our Tinybeans+ subscription unlocks expanded storage of 200GB.
- Qeepsake — Qeepsake help — How do I save photos to Qeepsake?, checked 2026-09-13
There are three ways to save photos to your Qeepsake journal: Text a photo to Qeepsake … Share photos from your phone’s camera roll into the mobile app … Note that Qeepsake supports the following image file types: PNG (image.png) JPEG (image.jpg or image.jpeg).
- Tinybeans — Help: What's included in the Tinybeans+ subscription?, checked 2026-09-12
Unlimited monthly uploads · 200GB storage for your journal (50,000+ photos/videos) · High-quality videos up to 5 minutes · Ad-free experience on your journal.
- Qeepsake — Qeepsake help — Can I add videos to my Qeepsake journal?, checked 2026-09-13
Qeepsake Video is available only to our Premium Members and their contributors … videos uploads are not supported via SMS and must be saved through the Qeepsake app … You can upload unlimited videos that are a minute or less. If a selected video is longer than that, a video trimming feature will open automatically … animated GIFs of your video will be included.
- Qeepsake — Qeepsake privacy policy (Tinybeans USA Ltd), checked 2026-09-13
The Service is provided to you by Tinybeans USA Ltd … We may process your information to develop and display personalized content and advertising tailored to your interests, location, and more … We do not sell or share your personal information for cross-context behavioral advertising purposes … Our application(s) may display a third-party hosted “offer wall.” … The Qeepsake website uses 256-bit SSL encryption … all Tinybeans staff members who have access to journal information have passed a criminal background check and sex-offender registry check … If you delete your account or request deletion, we will remove your personal information from our active systems within a reasonable timeframe, typically within 30 days.
- Tinybeans — Help: What's the difference between free Tinybeans and Tinybeans+?, checked 2026-09-12
Free Tinybeans allows you to upload a maximum of 20 photos and videos per month and includes ads around your family's journal. Additionally, free Tinybeans journals are subject to 5GB storage limit.
- Qeepsake — Qeepsake help — Is Qeepsake private and secure?, checked 2026-09-13
Qeepsake uses 256-bit SSL encryption, which means your interaction with Qeepsake through texts, the app, or website is completely private and secure. Qeepsake does not sell, rent, license, or distribute the contents of anyone's journal for any reason … The only reasons a team member would access a family's journal is for troubleshooting an issue or to ensure the printed quality of Qeepsake Books.
- Tinybeans — Tinybeans: Introducing Tinybeans+ (27 Aug 2023), checked 2026-09-12
Tinybeans+ subscribers won't be seeing any ads. No ads in albums, in-app, and no emails … 200GB of storage … Only the family and friends you invite … have access to viewing them.
- Tinybeans — Help: Who can export memories from a Tinybeans journal?, checked 2026-09-12
A journal's contents can only be exported by the journal owner and followers they have granted Full Access … Free users who have passed the free storage limit and had their memories archived can export at no cost via the More tab of the app.
- Qeepsake — Qeepsake help — Can I export my Qeepsake data?, checked 2026-09-13
Your personal data that has been added to Qeepsake can be exported via our website. Login to your account at qeepsake.com, and find Account Settings in the main menu … You'll see the option to export at the bottom of the screen.
- Tinybeans — Help: How can I export (or download) all of my memories?, checked 2026-09-12
As a Tinybeans+ subscriber, you can request a mass export of your journal's photos and videos at any time via the website … The export will come to your email as links to download a month at a time.
- Qeepsake — Google Play listing: Qeepsake: Family Photo Album, checked 2026-09-13
Qeepsake: Family Photo Album · Tinybeans · In-app purchases · 100K+ Downloads.
- Qeepsake — Qeepsake help — What can I do in Qeepsake's mobile app?, checked 2026-09-13
While you can always text memories to build your family journal, Qeepsake also has a highly rated iPhone and Android mobile app with app-exclusive features … Bulk upload photos and create photo collages … Add a Family Contributor with your Premium membership.
- Tinybeans — App Store listing: Tinybeans Private Family Album — App Privacy, checked 2026-09-12
Data Used to Track You: Location, Contact Info, User Content, Identifiers, Usage Data. Data Linked to You — Third-Party Advertising: Location, Identifiers, Usage Data, Other Data … In-App Purchases: Tinybeans Plus Subscription $7.99 · $74.99.
- Qeepsake — qeepsake.com home page (FAQ), checked 2026-09-13
Capture your family’s daily moments, stories, and memories through convenient text-based prompts … How much do Qeepsake Books cost? Softcover Qeepsake Books start at $19.99 for the first 30 pages. Hardcover Qeepsake Books start at $39.99 for the first 30 pages.
- Qeepsake — Qeepsake help — What does Qeepsake + Tinybeans mean for me? (updated 6 June 2026), checked 2026-09-13
We’re thrilled to share that Qeepsake is now part of the Tinybeans family … Your plan, pricing, and billing will remain the same, unless you choose to upgrade in the future … For now, Qeepsake will continue to operate just as it does today.
- Tinybeans — tinybeans.com home page, checked 2026-09-12
Capture and privately share sweet snapshots and videos of your littles with our family photo-sharing app … Print a Photo Book · Gift a Tinybeans+ subscription.
Questions people ask
Is Qeepsake or Tinybeans cheaper?
Tinybeans has a real free plan — 20 uploads a month, 5 GB, with ads. Qeepsake starts with a 7-day trial and then charges: Essential $4.99 a month or $47.88 a year, Premium $9.99 a month or $95.88 a year; its free ‘Lite’ tier of five photos a month is being wound down. Paid against paid, Essential is cheaper than Tinybeans+ ($74.99 a year) and Premium is dearer.
Are Qeepsake and Tinybeans the same company?
Yes, now. Qeepsake’s help centre says it ‘is now part of the Tinybeans family’, and its privacy policy is Tinybeans USA Ltd’s.
Which has the longer video limit?
Tinybeans+: videos up to 5 minutes. Qeepsake: video is Premium-only and each clip is a minute or less, trimmed in the app; videos can’t be sent by text.
Can grandparents see the journal without an account?
In Qeepsake, partly: they can receive a weekly recap email with the ten most recent entries, videos as GIFs, but reading the whole journal means a contributor account, which needs Premium. In Tinybeans, followers log in, in the app or on the website.