App facts
Cluster
A private group album with no ads, from a small independent company
Running since 2013, free within limits, with Cluster Club subscriptions from $4.99 a month. No ads, and no tracking section on the label — but photos are 'partially' compressed, videos are capped at 15 seconds unless you subscribe, and relatives need an account even in the browser.
Just the safety question? Is Cluster safe? →
Where Cluster ranks
Its place on each "best for…" page — the same fifteen criteria, weighted for one situation at a time. Green is the top third of that page's ranking, red the bottom third.
Cluster launched in 2013 — Google featured it among its “Best Apps of 2013” — and has stayed small, independent and ad-free. Groups rather than children are its unit: a family, a wedding, a club, a classroom. Everyone in the group can post, and the company’s own help centre is unusually direct about what the service does to photos and how long a video can be. Much of that help centre also dates from 2014 to 2017, before the 2023 subscription, so we cite the newest article on each point and give its date.
Every criterion
- Price
- Free with unpublished limits; Cluster Club: Friend $4.99/mo or $49.99/yr, Family $9.99 or $99.99, Pro $19.99 or $199.99"We still maintain a free tier of service", limited by the number of groups you administer, members per group and total uploads; the free numbers aren't published on the pages we checked. Cluster Club on the App Store: Friend $4.99 a month or $49.99 a year, Family $9.99 or $99.99, Pro $19.99 or $199.99. The Family plan allows 100 members per group and Pro 1,000.[1][2][3]
- Do relatives have to pay?
- No — 'Subscriptions follow the account holder'; a free tier existsNo. "Subscriptions follow the account holder, not the group", and non-subscribers can view what subscribers post, longer videos included.[4][1]
- Storage limit
- Free uploads capped at an unpublished number of posts; 10 MB per image on the webFree accounts have an upload cap "based on how many total posts you have uploaded to any group", set "above" what people normally share; the number isn't published. Over it, "you may not be able to add more groups, members or content until you upgrade". On the web, "individual image uploads can only be 10MB per image".[2][5][6][7]
- Photos kept at full quality?
- No — 'we partially compress them … The images saved are not original'No. "During the upload process we partially compress them to make the experience on your end better. The images saved are not original, but they are still considered high resolution."[8][7]
- Video limits
- 15 seconds, app only; longer for subscribers (length not stated)"Video uploads have a time limit of 15 seconds", trimmed in the app, and only through the app. Subscribers can post "longer videos", which non-subscribers can view; the subscriber limit isn't stated.[9][4]
- Ads?
- No — 'we will never sell ads or sell your data'; merchandise promotions by emailNo. "Part of respecting that privacy means we will never sell ads or sell your data"; the family page says "No algorithms, no ads, no data mining". The terms reserve the right to email you and your group members "with promotions for merchandise we offer".[1][10][11]
- AI or face recognition run on your photos?
- Not stated on the pages we checked; neither the help centre nor the privacy policy mentions AI or face recognition.[12][13]
- Can the company open your photos?
- Yes — SSL in transit, stored in the cloud; no end-to-end claimYes. Photos are "stored in redundant locations in the cloud" and "only accessed over an encrypted connection"; the privacy policy says "We employ SSL to encrypt communications between our servers and client applications". No end-to-end claim.[13][12]
- Can family look without installing an app?
- Yes — in a browser, signed inYes. "All of your posts are viewable on the web, but you must be logged into your account." Public web albums are "no longer supported".[14][15]
- Do viewers need an account?
- Yes — invitees create an account to open the invite linkYes. "If you don't have an account with us yet you will have to create one first in order for the link to take you straight to your friend's group album."[16]
- Can family add their own photos?
- Yes — members post; admins can block posting per groupYes. "Only invited users can see and post to albums", and an admin can "Set permissions so only the right people can post".[17][10]
- Can you leave with everything?
- Partly — 'Get Backup of Photos/Videos' emails an archive per album, of the compressed copiesPartly. Per album, Settings → "Get Backup of Photos/Videos" → "Create Archive", and "you will be emailed an archive of high-resolution photos from this particular group album" — the stored copies, since the originals aren't kept. Cancelling deletes nothing: "We currently will not delete content or remove group members from any account."[18][19][8]
- Platforms
- iPhone, iPad, Apple TV, Android, web (no video upload on the web)iPhone, iPad and Apple TV on the App Store, Android on Google Play, and the web; video uploads are app-only.[3][20][9]
- App Store label: data used to track you
- No 'Data Used to Track You' section; email, name, phone, address, payment info and photos linkedThe App Store label has no "Data Used to Track You" section. Data linked to you: email address for "Developer’s Advertising or Marketing"; user ID for analytics; name for personalisation; and payment info, physical address, email, name, phone number, photos or videos and user ID for app functionality.[3]
- How it makes money
- Cluster Club subscriptions, photo books and merchandise; independentSubscriptions since 2023 — "Our first subscription offering since our first App Store launch almost a decade ago" — plus photo books and merchandise. "There's no big corporation behind this, and no big name investors": the company is Fotoloce, LLC, listed as Cluster Labs, Inc. on the App Store.[21][3][1]
What stands out
No ads, and a label with no tracking section. “Part of respecting that privacy means we will never sell ads or sell your data.” The App Store label has no “Data Used to Track You” section at all; what it links to you is what a shop needs — payment info, address, name, phone number — because Cluster sells photo books. The terms allow it to email members “with promotions for merchandise we offer”.
Compressed photos, fifteen-second videos. “The images saved are not original, but they are still considered high resolution.” Web uploads are limited to 10 MB per image; video is 15 seconds, trimmed in the app and app-only, with “longer videos” for subscribers at a length the pages don’t state.
Free within limits it doesn’t publish. The free tier is capped by the groups you administer, the members per group and the total posts you have uploaded, “set above” what people normally share; the numbers aren’t on the pages we checked. Past a cap you can’t add more, but “We currently will not delete content or remove group members from any account.”
Everyone posts; everyone needs an account. An invite link asks the relative to “create one first”; web viewing works “but you must be logged into your account”; public albums are “no longer supported”. Admins decide who can post and invite.
Export per album. “Get Backup of Photos/Videos” emails “an archive of high-resolution photos from this particular group album” — the stored copies, since the originals aren’t kept.
A help centre with dates on it. The 2020 article “How much does the app cost?” still says “The app is free”; the 2023 subscription articles explain the limits that now apply. Where they differ, the newer one is the fact.
Who it suits
Extended families, friend groups and clubs who want a private feed with no ads and no tracking and can live with compressed copies and short clips. For the originals, compare Kin Album, Google Photos in Original quality, Amazon Photos with Prime or BackThen; for a relative with no account, Keepr Circle or Google Photos.
Where next
Is Cluster safe? → Your own mix: set the sliders → Cluster vs FamilyAlbum →
Sources
- Cluster — Cluster support — Why is Cluster charging a subscription? (January 2023), checked 2026-09-13
Part of respecting that privacy means we will never sell ads or sell your data. Instead, we are supporting the service and our communities by selling merchandise, like photo books, and now opening up our service to subscriptions with enhanced features. We still maintain a free tier of service.
- Cluster — Cluster support — How are limits calculated and enforced?, checked 2026-09-13
Group creation limits will be enforced based on the number of groups you are currently an admin in … Upload limits will be based on how many total posts you have uploaded to any group … if one admin of a group has a Pro plan and another admin has the Family plan, the number of allowed members for the group is the larger of 100 or 1,000, so 1,000 members will be allowed within the group.
- Cluster — App Store listing: Cluster (privacy label, purchases), checked 2026-09-13
Cluster Private Photo Sharing … Developer Cluster Labs, Inc. … iPhone, iPad, Apple TV … Data Linked to You: Developer’s Advertising or Marketing — Contact Info (Email Address); Analytics — Identifiers (User ID); Product Personalization — Contact Info (Name); App Functionality — Financial Info (Payment Info), Contact Info (Physical Address, Email Address, Name, Phone Number), User Content (Photos or Videos), Identifiers (User ID) · Data Not Linked to You: Analytics — Usage Data (Product Interaction); Diagnostics — Crash Data, Performance Data … In-App Purchases: Cluster Friend $4.99 · Cluster Friend $49.99 · Cluster Family $9.99 · Cluster Pro $19.99 · Cluster Family $99.99 · Cluster Pro $199.99 … Cluster Club is a monthly or annual subscription to give admins more control over their groups … Cluster Club! Our first subscription offering since our first App Store launch almost a decade ago.
- Cluster — Cluster support — If I sign up for a subscription, will all the members of my groups receive the subscription benefits?, checked 2026-09-13
Subscriptions follow the account holder, not the group, but members of the group will see some of the benefits. For instance, non-subscribers will be able to view longer videos uploaded by subscribers but those non-subscribers will not be able to post longer videos themselves unless they subscribe.
- Cluster — Cluster support — Why are you limiting the number of uploads for free accounts?, checked 2026-09-13
We offered the service completely free for almost a decade, so we have a good idea of how many photos & videos people normally share — and the limits are set above that threshold.
- Cluster — Cluster support — I’m a long time Cluster user, but I don’t want to subscribe. Will my groups change?, checked 2026-09-13
We currently do not plan to delete groups or memberships for those who choose not to subscribe. But, if you are above the free tier limit, you may not be able to add more groups, members or content until you upgrade your membership.
- Cluster — Cluster support — Is there a limit to what can be uploaded into a group album? (2017), checked 2026-09-13
There is no limit to the number of photos or video posts that can be added. On the web, individual image uploads can only be 10MB per image, but uploads via the app are not limited at all. Video uploads are limited to 15 seconds … Video uploads are only an option through the app, and is not an upload option via the web … When uploading photos, we partially compress them to make the experience on your end better.
- Cluster — Cluster support — Are photos saved in their original high resolution format?, checked 2026-09-13
During the upload process we partially compress them to make the experience on your end better. The images saved are not original, but they are still considered high resolution.
- Cluster — Cluster support — How do I add video to a group album?, checked 2026-09-13
Currently the video upload feature is only available via the app (i.e. not via the web) … Video uploads have a time limit of 15 seconds, which you will be asked to trim after uploading (if the file you selected is too long).
- Cluster — Cluster — The Private Family Album, checked 2026-09-13
Grandparents, siblings, cousins — create a single family album where everyone can post and see every photo and video. No social media accounts needed … No algorithms, no ads, no data mining … Control who can upload photos. Set permissions so only the right people can post.
- Cluster — Cluster terms of use (updated August 2022), checked 2026-09-13
You own all your content (uploaded photos, videos and comments) … We will not sell your personal data … Cluster is not a backup service and you agree that you will not rely on the Service for the purposes of Content backup or storage … While we will not share your information with third parties, we will contact you and your group members directly via email and other means with promotions for merchandise we offer to support Cluster Services … When you sign up for a monthly or annual Cluster Club subscription tier.
- Cluster — Cluster privacy policy, checked 2026-09-13
We neither rent nor sell your Personal Information in personally identifiable form to anyone … We employ SSL to encrypt communications between our servers and client applications … We do not currently have any third-party advertising cookies, nor do we currently have any third-party data agreements that would share any of our customer's info … We provide a tool for downloading user data … You can also delete your account and all your data here: https://cluster.co/user/delete.
- Cluster — Cluster support — How are my photos kept safe?, checked 2026-09-13
Your photos are saved in high quality and stored in redundant locations in the cloud. Your photos are only accessed over an encrypted connection, so they cannot be located by anyone who does not have access to the group itself.
- Cluster — Cluster support — Can I view my photos and posts on the web?, checked 2026-09-13
All of your posts are viewable on the web, but you must be logged into your account.
- Cluster — Cluster support — Is what I post public?, checked 2026-09-13
Everything you post is only accessible to members who were explicitly added to the each individual group album and/or people who joined with the invitation link. (In previous versions of the app, you could make group albums “public” which would enable people with the URL to view the group album on the web. This functionality is no longer supported).
- Cluster — Cluster support — How do I join someone else's group album?, checked 2026-09-13
If you click the link in the email it should take you directly to the desired group album. If you don't have an account with us yet you will have to create one first in order for the link to take you straight to your friend's group album.
- Cluster — cluster.co home page, checked 2026-09-13
Group sharing for friends & family. The antidote to social media … Only invited users can see and post to albums … Cluster is simple to access and use through a web browser, so anyone can join and contribute … © 2026 Fotoloce, LLC.
- Cluster — Cluster support — How do I download ALL the photos from a group album to my device?, checked 2026-09-13
Tap "Get Backup of Photos/Videos" and then "Create Archive" upon which you will be emailed an archive of high-resolution photos from this particular group album for you to use however you'd like.
- Cluster — Cluster support — If I cancel my subscription, will I lose access to my content?, checked 2026-09-13
We currently will not delete content or remove group members from any account. If you are exceeding the free tier allocation, however, you will be prevented from adding additional members, new groups or new content.
- Cluster — Google Play listing: Cluster, checked 2026-09-13
Cluster · Cluster Apps · In-app purchases · 500K+ Downloads … Featured under "Best Apps of 2013" by Google.
- Cluster — Cluster — About Our Company, checked 2026-09-13
Cluster, Homeroom and Tripcast are independent apps built and maintained by a tiny team of people who care about keeping them running for the long term. The company itself is called Fotoloce. There's no big corporation behind this, and no big name investors … You own everything you upload … When you buy a subscription or order a photo book, you're directly supporting a small, independent business.
Questions people ask
Is Cluster free?
Yes, within limits: ‘We still maintain a free tier of service’, capped by the number of groups you administer, members per group and total posts uploaded; the free numbers aren’t published on the pages we checked. Cluster Club is $4.99 a month or $49.99 a year (Friend), $9.99 or $99.99 (Family, 100 members per group) and $19.99 or $199.99 (Pro, 1,000 members).
Does Cluster keep the original photos?
No. ‘During the upload process we partially compress them to make the experience on your end better. The images saved are not original, but they are still considered high resolution.’ The per-album archive export sends those copies.
How long can a Cluster video be?
15 seconds, trimmed in the app, and only through the app. Subscribers can post ‘longer videos’, which everyone in the group can view; the subscriber limit isn’t stated.
Does Cluster show ads?
No: ‘we will never sell ads or sell your data’, and the family page says ‘No algorithms, no ads, no data mining’. The terms reserve the right to email you and your group members about merchandise Cluster sells, such as photo books.
Who makes Cluster?
Fotoloce, LLC — ‘a tiny team of people’ with ‘no big corporation behind this, and no big name investors’ — listed as Cluster Labs, Inc. on the App Store. The same team makes Tripcast and Homeroom.