App facts

PhotoCircle

Invite-only circles, 3.2-megapixel photos

Free with ads for personal use and the cheapest paid tier here at $9.99 a year — but the standard plan compresses photos to 3.2 megapixels and video to 60 seconds at 720p, and PhotoCircle+ doesn't change that.

Facts checked 2026-09-12 · Updated 2026-09-12 · Covers 1 app

Just the safety question? Is PhotoCircle safe? →

Where PhotoCircle ranks

Its place on each "best for…" page — the same fifteen criteria, weighted for one situation at a time. Green is the top third of that page's ranking, red the bottom third.

PhotoCircle sells private “circles” to families, teams, schools and churches, with roles, moderation and consent tools aimed at the organisational side. For a family it is simple and cheap. The number that matters is on its own resolution page: 3.2 megapixels.

Every criterion

Price
Free with ads; PhotoCircle+ $1.29/mo or $9.99/yrFree with ads for personal use. PhotoCircle+ is $1.29 a month or $9.99 a year: ad-free for the subscriber only, 4-minute videos, bulk download. Organisation plans are priced per seat.[1][2]
Do relatives have to pay?
No — but they still see adsNo — but PhotoCircle+ removes ads "for the subscriber only", so relatives still see them.[2]
Storage limit
No quota statedNo storage quota is stated; the App Store listing says you can create unlimited albums.[3]
Photos kept at full quality?
No — 3.2 megapixels, 720pNo. "Our standard resolution is 3.2 megapixels" and 720p video; 12 MP and 1080p are only on organisation premium plans — "PhotoCircle+ is NOT a premium plan. It does not include high resolution photos or videos."[4]
Video limits
60 s free; 4 min with PhotoCircle+60 seconds per clip free; up to 4 minutes with PhotoCircle+ or a premium plan.[4][2]
Ads?
Yes — removed for the subscriber onlyYes — "Ads help us keep it that way." PhotoCircle+ removes them for the subscriber only.[1][2]
AI or face recognition run on your photos?
Not stated on the pages we checked. Search on PhotoCircle+ is by circle name and caption.[2]
Can the company open your photos?
Yes — no end-to-end claimYes. No end-to-end encryption claim; "private" means invite-only circles.[3]
Can family look without installing an app?
Partly — web app; viewing without joining not statedPhotoCircle runs on the web as well as in the apps; whether a circle can be viewed without joining isn't stated on the pages we checked.[2][3]
Do viewers need an account?
Yes — invited membersYes — "Only invited members can access your albums"; members join with an account.[3]
Can family add their own photos?
Yes — invited members "access your albums and contribute content".[3]
Can you leave with everything?
Partly — bulk download needs PhotoCircle+; compressedPartly. "Download all media in a Circle at once" is a PhotoCircle+ feature; what you get back is the compressed copy.[2][4]
Platforms
iOS, Android, webiOS, Android and the web.[3][2]
App Store label: data used to track you
Yes Contact info, identifiers, usage dataApp Store label: Contact Info, Identifiers and Usage Data "may be used to track you across apps and websites owned by other companies".[3]
How it makes money
Ads, PhotoCircle+, per-seat plansAds, PhotoCircle+ subscriptions, and per-seat premium plans for schools and organisations.[1][2]

What stands out

3.2 megapixels is the standard. That is roughly a quarter of what a modern phone captures, and it is what the free plan and PhotoCircle+ both store. Higher resolution is reserved for organisation plans priced per seat. What you download later is the compressed copy.

The cheapest paid tier in this comparison. $9.99 a year. It removes ads for you, not for anyone else in the circle, and lifts video from 60 seconds to 4 minutes.

Sixty seconds of video, free. Among the tightest video limits here — only Cluster’s fifteen seconds is shorter.

The label. Contact Info, Identifiers and Usage Data under “Data Used to Track You”, with contact info and identifiers also listed for third-party advertising.

Viewing without joining: not stated. PhotoCircle runs on the web and in the apps, and “only invited members can access your albums”. We couldn’t find a statement about viewing without an account, so the table says so.

Who it suits

Groups that want cheap, invite-only sharing of small photos, or organisations that need roles and moderation. Families who want the app to hold the copy they’d print should read the quality row first.

Where next

Is PhotoCircle safe? → Your own mix: set the sliders →

Where PhotoCircle ranks ↑ Back to the top ↑

Sources

  1. PhotoCirclePhotoCircle Help: Is there a charge to use PhotoCircle?, checked 2026-09-12
    The app is free for personal use (i.e. sharing with friends and family). Ads help us keep it that way … A PhotoCircle premium plan seat is required for anyone who works for or represents your organization.
  2. PhotoCirclePhotoCircle Help: What is a PhotoCircle+ subscription?, checked 2026-09-12
    The price is $1.29 per month or $9.99 per year … An ad-free experience for the subscriber only · Longer videos (up to 4 minutes) · Search (based on Circle name and photo captions) · Larger upload limit (up to 200 photos at a time) · Option to download all media in a Circle at once · Slideshow (available on web).
  3. PhotoCircleApp Store listing: PhotoCircle — description and App Privacy, checked 2026-09-12
    Privacy First: Only invited members can access your albums and contribute content. Video Clips: Share video clips up to 1 minute long … Data Used to Track You: Contact Info, Identifiers, Usage Data … In-App Purchases: PhotoCircle Pro Monthly $1.29 · PhotoCircle Pro Yearly $9.99.
  4. PhotoCirclePhotoCircle Help: What resolution are the photos and videos?, checked 2026-09-12
    Our standard resolution is 3.2 megapixels … 720p … 60 seconds per clip … Higher resolution (12 megapixels) and longer videos (up to 4 minutes at 1080p) are available with most PhotoCircle Premium Plans … PhotoCircle+ is NOT a premium plan. It does not include high resolution photos or videos.

Questions people ask

Is PhotoCircle free?

For personal use, yes — ‘The app is free for personal use (i.e. sharing with friends and family). Ads help us keep it that way.’ Organisations need per-seat premium plans.

What does PhotoCircle+ include?

$1.29 a month or $9.99 a year buys an ad-free experience ‘for the subscriber only’, videos up to 4 minutes, search by circle name and caption, uploads of 200 photos at a time, bulk download of a circle, and slideshows on the web. It does not raise photo resolution: ‘PhotoCircle+ is NOT a premium plan. It does not include high resolution photos or videos.’

Does PhotoCircle reduce photo quality?

Yes. ‘Our standard resolution is 3.2 megapixels’, with video at 720p and 60 seconds per clip. 12-megapixel photos and 4-minute 1080p video are available only on organisation premium plans.

Do relatives still see ads if I pay for PhotoCircle+?

Yes. The ad-free experience is ‘for the subscriber only’.

Every question on the site, on one page →