App facts

Qeepsake

A text-message baby journal, now owned by Tinybeans

Daily prompts by text, answers and photos saved to a dated journal, a printed book at the end. A 7-day trial, then $4.99 or $9.99 a month; relatives get a weekly recap email, contributors need Premium, videos are a minute long, and staff can open a journal for support.

Facts checked 2026-09-13 · Updated 2026-09-13 · Covers 1 app

Just the safety question? Is Qeepsake safe? →

Where Qeepsake ranks

Its place on each "best for…" page — the same fifteen criteria, weighted for one situation at a time. Green is the top third of that page's ranking, red the bottom third.

Qeepsake is a journal rather than an album: it texts you a question a day, you text back a sentence or a photo, and the entries stack up by date until you order them as a book. It joined Tinybeans in 2026, and its privacy policy is now Tinybeans’. It is compared here because people compare it, and its rows read differently from the albums’: the photo cap is a monthly count, the relatives’ path is an email, and “free” is a trial.

Every criterion

Price
7-day trial, then Essential $4.99/mo or $47.88/yr, Premium $9.99/mo or $95.88/yr; free Lite tier of 5 photos a monthTwo memberships after a 7-day free trial: Essential at $4.99 a month or $47.88 a year (2 journals, 50 photos a month, 2 questions a day) and Premium at $9.99 a month or $95.88 a year (unlimited journals, 100 photos a month, 4 questions a day, video, contributors); the App Store lists the yearly plans at $47.99 and $95.99. Cancelling moves you to the free "Qeepsake Lite" tier — one prompt a week, five photos a month — which Qeepsake is deactivating when inactive "as we move to a paid-only system".[1][2][3][4]
Do relatives have to pay?
No — recap-email recipients and contributors don't payNo. "Contributors will not be charged for creating an account", and friends and family receive the weekly recap emails at no cost; adding contributors needs the account holder to be on Premium.[5][6]
Storage limit
Metered by count: 50 (Essential) or 100 (Premium) photos a month; 5 on LiteMetered by count rather than gigabytes: "Premium Members can upload 100 photos per month, while Essential Members can upload 50 photos per month", with 200 or 500 spontaneous entries; Lite allows "up to five photos per month". Premium lists "Unlimited protected storage".[7][1][3]
Photos kept at full quality?
Not stated on the pages we checked. The help centre lists the accepted file types (JPEG and PNG) and says nothing about resolution or compression.[8]
Video limits
Premium only; one minute per video, app onlyPremium only: "You can upload unlimited videos that are a minute or less"; a longer video is trimmed to a one-minute segment in the app, and "videos uploads are not supported via SMS".[9]
Ads?
Not stated for the app; the privacy policy allows 'personalized content and advertising' and an 'offer wall'Not stated on the pricing or help pages. The privacy policy, now Tinybeans', says it may "develop and display personalized content and advertising tailored to your interests" and that its applications "may display a third-party hosted 'offer wall'", while also saying "We do not sell or share your personal information for cross-context behavioral advertising purposes".[10]
AI or face recognition run on your photos?
Not stated on the pages we checked; neither the privacy policy nor the help centre mentions AI or face recognition on photos.[10][11]
Can the company open your photos?
Yes — SSL in transit; staff can open a journal for support or print checksYes. "Qeepsake uses 256-bit SSL encryption" for texts, app and website, and staff who pass a background check can access a family's journal "for troubleshooting an issue or to ensure the printed quality of Qeepsake Books". No end-to-end claim.[11][10]
Can family look without installing an app?
Partly — a weekly recap email of up to 10 entries; the journal itself needs an accountPartly. Friends and family can be added as recipients of a weekly email with "the 10 most recent entries saved from the previous week"; videos appear in it as animated GIFs. Browsing the whole journal means being a contributor, with an account.[6][9]
Do viewers need an account?
Partly — recap recipients accept an email invitation; contributors sign upPartly. A recap recipient "will need to accept the email invitation"; a contributor is invited by email, sets up an account and verifies a phone number.[6][5]
Can family add their own photos?
Partly — 'Family Contributors' need Premium; they get their own prompts and post to the same journalPartly. "Adding Family Contributors is exclusively a Qeepsake Premium feature"; contributors "receive their own questions and can text their own entries", saved to the same journal.[5]
Can you leave with everything?
Yes — export from Account Settings on the website; format not statedYes. "Your personal data that has been added to Qeepsake can be exported via our website", from Account Settings; whether photos come back as originals isn't stated. Entries stay readable on the free Lite tier after cancelling.[12][3]
Platforms
iPhone, Android, web, and SMS promptsiPhone (the App Store lists it as "Only for iPhone"), Android on Google Play, the web app at qeepsake.com, and text messages: prompts arrive by SMS or app notification and photos can be texted in; video needs the app.[4][13][14][7]
App Store label: data used to track you
Yes Usage data used to track you; purchases, contacts, photos, identifiers linkedApp Store label: "Data Used to Track You: Usage Data". Data linked to you: purchase history, email address, name, phone number, photos or videos, user ID and device ID, for advertising or marketing, analytics, product personalisation and app functionality.[4]
How it makes money
Memberships plus printed books and photo cards; owned by TinybeansMemberships (Essential and Premium) and printed products — journal books from $19.99, chapter and story books, photo cards — with book credits bundled into the annual plans. Qeepsake "is now part of the Tinybeans family".[1][15][16]

What stands out

Paid from the first week. Essential ($4.99 a month or $47.88 a year) and Premium ($9.99 a month or $95.88 a year) both begin with a 7-day trial and charge automatically after it. The free tier, Qeepsake Lite, is what you fall back to on cancelling — one prompt a week, five photos a month, old entries still readable — and Qeepsake says it has “begun deactivating inactive free accounts as we move to a paid-only system”.

Photos by count, videos by the minute. 50 photo uploads a month on Essential, 100 on Premium, with “Unlimited protected storage” listed on Premium; the resolution kept isn’t stated. Video is Premium-only, “a minute or less”, and app-only.

Relatives get an email; contributors get prompts. Anyone you add receives a Monday recap of up to ten entries, with videos as GIFs, after accepting an email invitation. “Family Contributors” — a partner or grandparent who answers their own prompts into the same journal — are a Premium feature, and are not charged.

Staff can open the journal, and it says so. “256-bit SSL encryption” in transit, staff who “have passed a criminal background check”, and access to a family’s journal “for troubleshooting an issue or to ensure the printed quality of Qeepsake Books”. No end-to-end claim. The App Store label lists usage data as used to track you, and purchase history, contacts, photos and identifiers as linked to you.

Ads: not stated, and the policy leaves the door open. Tinybeans’ privacy policy for Qeepsake says it may “display personalized content and advertising tailored to your interests” and that its apps “may display a third-party hosted ‘offer wall’”, while also saying it does not sell or share personal information for cross-context behavioural advertising. Whether the app shows ads isn’t stated on its pricing or help pages.

Export exists; the format doesn’t say. Account Settings on the website has an export option for “your personal data”; whether photos come back as originals isn’t stated.

Who it suits

Parents who want to be prompted and to end up with a printed book, and will pay about $48 to $96 a year for it. Families who want an album relatives browse, videos longer than a minute, or a stated photo resolution should look at the albums: Tinybeans for the journal-with-album format, Kin Album or Google Photos for the files.

Where next

Is Qeepsake safe? → Your own mix: set the sliders → Qeepsake vs Tinybeans →

Where Qeepsake ranks ↑ Back to the top ↑

Sources

  1. QeepsakeQeepsake — Pricing, checked 2026-09-13
    Essential $4.99 / month Billed monthly … Premium $9.99 / month Billed monthly … Essential $47.88 / year $3.99 / month - billed yearly 7 DAYS FREE … Premium $95.88 / year $7.99 / month - billed yearly … Unlimited protected storage … Maximum monthly photo uploads 50 100 … Maximum spontaneous entries 200 500 … Add Family Contributors … In-app video entries.
  2. QeepsakeQeepsake help — Are memberships priced per journal?, checked 2026-09-13
    All Qeepsake memberships are priced per account — not per journal … Qeepsake Essential costs $47.88 annually or $4.99 monthly, regardless of how many journals are created … Qeepsake Premium costs $95.88 annually or $9.99 monthly.
  3. QeepsakeQeepsake help — I cancelled my membership. Can I still access my account?, checked 2026-09-13
    Once you’ve cancelled your paid membership, you’ll be moved to our free tier, Qeepsake Lite … Receive up to one prompt a week … Upload up to five photos per month, through the mobile app … Qeepsake has recently begun deactivating inactive free accounts as we move to a paid-only system … we will hold recently deactivated accounts for 1 year to allow for account restoration.
  4. QeepsakeApp Store listing: Qeepsake: Family Photo Album (privacy label, purchases), checked 2026-09-13
    Only for iPhone … Developer Tinybeans USA Ltd. … Data Used to Track You: Usage Data · Data Linked to You: Developer’s Advertising or Marketing — Identifiers (User ID, Device ID); Analytics — Purchases, Contact Info, User Content, Identifiers, Usage Data; Product Personalization — Purchases, Contact Info, User Content, Identifiers, Usage Data; App Functionality — Purchases (Purchase History), Contact Info (Email Address, Name, Phone Number), User Content (Photos or Videos, Customer Support, Other User Content), Identifiers, Usage Data, Diagnostics · Data Not Linked to You: Analytics — Usage Data, Advertising Data; App Functionality — Diagnostics … In-App Purchases: Qeepsake Monthly Essential $4.99 · Qeepsake Monthly Premium $9.99 · Qeepsake Essential Free Trial $47.99 · Qeepsake Premium Free Trial $95.99.
  5. QeepsakeQeepsake help — How do I add a Spouse or Family Contributor?, checked 2026-09-13
    Contributors receive their own questions and can text their own entries. All entries will be saved to your same journal(s) … Adding Family Contributors is exclusively a Qeepsake Premium feature … Contributors will not be charged for creating an account … Contributors will need to verify their phone number and question time before they can receive their questions.
  6. QeepsakeQeepsake help — What are Qeepsake Recap emails?, checked 2026-09-13
    Qeepsake can send you a weekly email (on Mondays) with the 10 most recent entries saved from the previous week … Friends and family can also receive these emails— you ultimately have control over who receives them … Your recipient will need to accept the email invitation they receive in order to receive weekly recap emails.
  7. QeepsakeQeepsake — Features, checked 2026-09-13
    Capture your family’s experiences, emotions, and memories by responding to curated text prompts sent on your schedule … Premium Members can add Family Contributors, who will receive their own questions and can text their own entries … Keep family and friends in the loop by adding them as recipients to weekly recap emails … Premium Members can upload 100 photos per month, while Essential Members can upload 50 photos per month.
  8. QeepsakeQeepsake help — How do I save photos to Qeepsake?, checked 2026-09-13
    There are three ways to save photos to your Qeepsake journal: Text a photo to Qeepsake … Share photos from your phone’s camera roll into the mobile app … Note that Qeepsake supports the following image file types: PNG (image.png) JPEG (image.jpg or image.jpeg).
  9. QeepsakeQeepsake help — Can I add videos to my Qeepsake journal?, checked 2026-09-13
    Qeepsake Video is available only to our Premium Members and their contributors … videos uploads are not supported via SMS and must be saved through the Qeepsake app … You can upload unlimited videos that are a minute or less. If a selected video is longer than that, a video trimming feature will open automatically … animated GIFs of your video will be included.
  10. QeepsakeQeepsake privacy policy (Tinybeans USA Ltd), checked 2026-09-13
    The Service is provided to you by Tinybeans USA Ltd … We may process your information to develop and display personalized content and advertising tailored to your interests, location, and more … We do not sell or share your personal information for cross-context behavioral advertising purposes … Our application(s) may display a third-party hosted “offer wall.” … The Qeepsake website uses 256-bit SSL encryption … all Tinybeans staff members who have access to journal information have passed a criminal background check and sex-offender registry check … If you delete your account or request deletion, we will remove your personal information from our active systems within a reasonable timeframe, typically within 30 days.
  11. QeepsakeQeepsake help — Is Qeepsake private and secure?, checked 2026-09-13
    Qeepsake uses 256-bit SSL encryption, which means your interaction with Qeepsake through texts, the app, or website is completely private and secure. Qeepsake does not sell, rent, license, or distribute the contents of anyone's journal for any reason … The only reasons a team member would access a family's journal is for troubleshooting an issue or to ensure the printed quality of Qeepsake Books.
  12. QeepsakeQeepsake help — Can I export my Qeepsake data?, checked 2026-09-13
    Your personal data that has been added to Qeepsake can be exported via our website. Login to your account at qeepsake.com, and find Account Settings in the main menu … You'll see the option to export at the bottom of the screen.
  13. QeepsakeGoogle Play listing: Qeepsake: Family Photo Album, checked 2026-09-13
    Qeepsake: Family Photo Album · Tinybeans · In-app purchases · 100K+ Downloads.
  14. QeepsakeQeepsake help — What can I do in Qeepsake's mobile app?, checked 2026-09-13
    While you can always text memories to build your family journal, Qeepsake also has a highly rated iPhone and Android mobile app with app-exclusive features … Bulk upload photos and create photo collages … Add a Family Contributor with your Premium membership.
  15. Qeepsakeqeepsake.com home page (FAQ), checked 2026-09-13
    Capture your family’s daily moments, stories, and memories through convenient text-based prompts … How much do Qeepsake Books cost? Softcover Qeepsake Books start at $19.99 for the first 30 pages. Hardcover Qeepsake Books start at $39.99 for the first 30 pages.
  16. QeepsakeQeepsake help — What does Qeepsake + Tinybeans mean for me? (updated 6 June 2026), checked 2026-09-13
    We’re thrilled to share that Qeepsake is now part of the Tinybeans family … Your plan, pricing, and billing will remain the same, unless you choose to upgrade in the future … For now, Qeepsake will continue to operate just as it does today.

Questions people ask

Is Qeepsake free?

Not in practice. Every membership starts with a 7-day free trial and then charges: Essential is $4.99 a month or $47.88 a year, Premium $9.99 a month or $95.88 a year. Cancelling moves you to ‘Qeepsake Lite’ — one prompt a week and five photos a month — which Qeepsake says it is deactivating when inactive ‘as we move to a paid-only system’.

Can grandparents see a Qeepsake journal?

Partly. Friends and family can be added as recipients of a weekly recap email with ‘the 10 most recent entries saved from the previous week’; videos appear in it as animated GIFs. Reading the whole journal means being a Family Contributor, which needs the account holder to be on Premium and an account of their own.

Does Qeepsake support video?

On Premium only, and ‘a minute or less’ per video: a longer video is trimmed to a one-minute segment in the app. Videos can’t be sent by text.

Is Qeepsake owned by Tinybeans?

Yes. Qeepsake’s help centre says ‘Qeepsake is now part of the Tinybeans family’ in an article updated 6 June 2026, the App Store seller is Tinybeans USA Ltd, and the privacy policy is Tinybeans’. Plans and pricing were unchanged when we checked.

Every question on the site, on one page →